FRYfest 2016 is celebrating Hawkeye Rivalries in light of the great history-making success of the 2015 Iowa football season. Iowa currently holds the Heartland, Cy-Hawk, Heroes, Floyd of Rosedale and Big Ten West trophies for the teams wins over Wisconsin, Iowa State, Nebraska and Minnesota, respectively. Please read below for a brief history of each rivalry and trophy. All four will be on display throughout the tradeshow!

Heartland Trophy – Iowa vs. Wisconsin

The Heartland Trophy is a brass bull presented to the winner of the annual game. Although the rivalry is over 100 years old, the trophy is a relatively new addition. It was first presented in 2004 to Iowa, when it defeated Wisconsin 30–7. In 2005, Iowa spoiled the last home game for Wisconsin head coach Barry Alvarez, defeating the Badgers at Camp Randall Stadium 20–10. The Badgers took possession of the trophy for the first time in 2006, defeating Iowa 24–21 in a back-and-forth matchup. Wisconsin evened the Heartland Trophy series in 2007, winning another closely contested game 17–13 at Camp Randall. In 2008, Iowa took the lead in the trophy series with a lopsided 38–16 victory. The Hawkeyes’ second-half performance was key again in 2009, as Iowa won 20–10 in Madison. The 2010 game was decided in the final minute, as the Badgers scored a late touchdown for a 31–30 victory at Kinnick Stadium.

Due to Big Ten expansion, Wisconsin and Iowa were placed in separate divisions, thus suspending the annual rivalry. However, the series resumed as an annual game during the 2014 season. The Big Ten announced in April 2013 it would realign its divisions geographically when Maryland and Rutgers joined in 2014, and Iowa and Wisconsin would play in the Big Ten West. The two started interdivisional play on November 22, 2014, in Iowa City. Iowa currently holds the trophy following a 10-6 win in Madison in 2015.

1894 – 2015. Iowa wins: 43 | Wisconsin wins: 44 | Ties: 2

Cy-Hawk Trophy – Iowa vs. Iowa State

Conceived and created as a traveling trophy by the Greater Des Moines Athletic Club in 1976, the trophy was first presented to the winner by Iowa Governor Robert D. Ray in 1977. That game was the first meeting between the two since 1934.

The trophy design used through the 2010 season featured a football, a running back in the classic stiff-arm pose, and the likenesses of Iowa State’s Cy the Cardinal and Iowa’s Herky the Hawk. The trophy was retired after the 2010 game and is to be displayed permanently at the Iowa Hall of Pride in Des Moines, Iowa.

A new trophy, donated by the Iowa Corn Growers Association, was introduced to the public during the Iowa State Fair on August 19, 2011. A sculpture atop the new trophy depicted a farm family with small children huddled about a bushel basket of corn. Dean Taylor, president of the Association, called it “a work of art that represents Iowans and their hard work.” Within hours of its presentation, however, the new trophy was widely ridiculed in newspaper columns and online postings by the public. Iowa Governor Terry Branstad publicly provided negative feedback, as did retired Iowa football coach Hayden Fry, who said, “The farmer, family and corn is all wonderful, but I don’t really get the relationship to a football game.”

On August 23, 2011, Iowa Corn Growers Association CEO Craig Floss announced that the new Cy-Hawk Trophy would be changed as a result of the negative public reaction. Selection of the new trophy would involve public input. A temporary trophy was used for 2011. With fan input, the newly, redesigned trophy was unveiled at the end of the 2012 game won by Iowa State featuring mascots of the two universities, a raised football, and corn making up the background. Iowa currently hold the trophy following a 2015 win in Ames.

1894 – 2015. Iowa wins: 41 | Iowa State wins: 22

Heroes Trophy – Iowa vs. Nebraska

The two schools met often throughout the 1890s and the first half of the 20th century, but played only six times in the second half. Following Nebraska’s move to the Big Ten Conference in 2011, the teams again meet annually. The Heroes Trophy has been awarded to the winner of the game since 2011. Iowa currently hold the trophy.

1891 – 2015. Iowa wins: 14 | Nebraska wins: 29 | Ties: 3

Floyd of Rosedale – Iowa vs. Minnesota

Of all of the rivalry trophies, Floyd of Rosedale is the most immersed in our nation’s racial history. The 1934 game between the Hawkeyes and Golden Gophers had been filled with controversy over the treatment of Iowa star halfback Ozzie Simmons. Simmons was also one of the few black football players of that era, and several rough hits by the Gophers on Simmons forced him to leave the game multiple times in Minnesota’s 48–12 victory.

The following year, Coach Bernie Bierman’s Gophers were 5–0, and Coach Ossie Solem’s Hawkeyes were 4–0–1. Before the 1935 Iowa–Minnesota game in Iowa City, Bierman received a flood of threatening letters from Iowa fans. He requested and received special police protection for the team coming into Iowa. The day before the game, Iowa Governor Clyde L. Herring remarked to reporters, “If the officials stand for any rough tactics like Minnesota used last year, I’m sure the crowd won’t.” The news quickly reached Minnesota. Coach Bernie Bierman threatened to break off athletic relations.

To lighten the mood, Minnesota Governor Floyd Olson sent a telegram to Governor Herring on game-day morning, which read, “Dear Clyde, Minnesota folks excited over your statement about the Iowa crowd lynching the Minnesota football team. I have assured them that you are a law-abiding gentleman…If you seriously think Iowa has any chance to win, I will bet you a Minnesota prize hog against an Iowa prize hog that Minnesota wins today. The loser must deliver the hog in person to the winner.”

The Iowa governor accepted and word of the bet reached Iowa City as the crowd gathered at the stadium. Things calmed down and the game was untroubled. Minnesota won 13–6, and Iowa star Ozzie Simmons played an injury-free game. Afterwards, the Minnesota players went out of their way to compliment Simmons, and Simmons praised the Gophers for their clean, hard-fought play. Minnesota went on to win their second straight national championship.

Governor Herring obtained an award-winning prize pig which had been donated by Allen Loomis, the owner of Rosedale Farms near Fort Dodge, Iowa. Dubbed Floyd after Minnesota Governor Olson, the pig was the brother of Blue Boy from Will Rogers’ movie State Fair. A few days later, Governor Herring collected “Floyd of Rosedale” and personally walked him into Governor Olson’s carpeted office.

Within weeks of winning the pig, Minnesota Governor Olson gave him away in an essay contest titled “Opportunities for life on the farm.” The winner gave Floyd to the University of Minnesota. The school then sold Floyd to the Gjerdrum family farm for $50. Floyd the pig died of cholera in July 1936 and was buried near the trees on the farm a location six miles from Iowa, almost exactly halfway between the two schools. A 98 lb. bronze pig statue has since become the football annual prize. In 2008, named Floyd of Rosedale the top rivalry trophy in college football. Iowa currently holds the trophy.

1891 – 2015. Iowa wins: 45 | Minnesota wins: 72 | Ties: 2